It’s a hard knock life for us artists…

IMG_20170327_004025_677

Sometimes it really sucks being an artist. People have been reposting my art on social media without giving me proper credit. I can’t tell you how much this hurts and breaks my heart, guys.

I don’t mind people posting my art, especially because you’re not making money off of it, but please, please, please let me know. Give proper credit where it’s due, always give the artists name and a link to their artist page. 

I can’t tell you how much it sucks to post my art and get 20 likes at most, then see these pages post my art and get thousands of likes and comments on something I worked my ass off to make. It really fucking breaks my heart. Don’t do this to any artist you appreciate. It makes us want to quit making art.

P.Val

2 thoughts on “It’s a hard knock life for us artists…

  1. Well said!
    I’ve not had this happen to me, but it would be devastating to see someone else get all the glory for my hard work with no returns.

  2. This Annie looks ready to appear on a can of Campbell Soup (like the other Campbell Soup kids).

    If other people are getting LIKES for putting your art on their pages without credit to you, that just makes this whole internet sharing business more pointless.

    I was just thinking, myself, how this website is kind of a waste for artists. There are other sites geared toward showcasing just art and talking about it. Yet, I scroll samples and post some of my own here. But, this place is a ghost town compared to those other art sites, I think.

    But, all this LIKEing nonsense is no reason to stop MAKING art. Just re-think where you post it. Then again, with all the technology out there these days, you could avoid the internet entirely and still find people getting attention from your work. Just think of anyone who puts their work in a public restaurant or on the street (like the bull and girl statues by Wall Street) and all the people who snap pictures with stupi-er, “smart phones” to add to their pages, just to posts SOMETHING they saw and sorta liked. People who do that have nothing better to do than snap photos of everything. I worry their brains will turn to mush if they don’t get a LIKE every minute. Is that living?

    Don’t sweat it. Just stop chasing these people. And, maybe, slap a SAMPLE label over your work. That’ll make it less appealing. But, doesn’t that also defeat the point of sharing? It’s your call, either way.

Leave a Reply

